The style of the wine region’s 4th largest Champagne house is characterised by freshness, precision and elegant structure. The management of the house is still carried out within the family circle, with the involvement of Michel Fauconenet, chef de cave, who has been working at the estate for 40 years.
The Laurent-Perrier house was founded by André Michel Pierlot in 1812. It took on the Vve Laurent-Perrier name, when Mathilde-Émilie Perrier, the widow of Eugène Laurent, united the name of the two families. Her daughter, Eugénie Hortense Laurent, inherited the house in 1925, then sold it to Marie-Louise Lanson de Nonancourt in 1939. Keeping the future of her four children in mind, widow Marie-Louise de Nonancourt purchased Domaine Laurent-Perrier in 1939. During World War II, Marie-Louise Lanson de Nonancourt ran the business, while her two sons joined the French Resistance. Bernard de Nonancourt started his study year in 1945, when he mastered all areas of winemaking, from the vineyard to the cellar, and in October 1948, he was appointed president and CEO. At that time, the house employed around 20 people and distributed 80,000 bottles a year. Bernard de Nonancourt was driven by his passion for Champagne, traditional values and most importantly, respect for people. He inspired Laurent-Perrier with his independent spirit and creative boldness. He established privileged working relationships with wine producers and skilfully combined innovation with tradition. He created Laurent-Perrier’s distinctive style, which bears the notes of freshness, delicacy and elegance, and he developed the house’s unique selection of champagnes.